Governor's Office
  |  Newsroom        
Governor Kotek Delivers Remarks at State Government Artificial Intelligence Advisory Council Kickoff
The Council will develop recommendations to leverage artificial intelligence while honoring transparency, privacy, and diversity, equity, and inclusion
Today, Governor Tina Kotek delivered remarks at the first meeting of the State Government Artificial Intelligence Advisory Council, established by the Governor’s Executive Order 23-06. Governor Kotek created the State Government Artificial Intelligence Advisory Council in response to the growing role that generative artificial intelligence is playing in society.

“Artificial intelligence is a rapidly evolving landscape which the state must be well-prepared for,” Governor Kotek said. “The Council will conduct important work in identifying how the state can mitigate risk and center equity in this new technological frontier. As such, a fundamental priority of my office was developing a council that included a diversity of voices, perspectives, and backgrounds. I look forward to reviewing the recommendations they will bring to my desk.”

The Council will provide a recommended action plan framework to the Governor’s Office no later than six months from the date of its first convening, and a final recommended action plan no later than 12 months from its first convening.

Meetings of the State Government Artificial Intelligence Advisory Council are open to the public. Public comment may be made during the meeting.

For more information on the Council’s meetings and charge, click here.

A full list of members on the Artificial Intelligence Advisory Council can be found below:
• Terrence Woods, State Chief Information Officer
• Kathryn Darnell Helms, State Chief Data Officer
• Melinda Gross, Department of Administrative Services Cultural Change Officer
• TBA, Governor's Racial Justice Council
• Daniel Bonham, Member of the Oregon State Senate
• Daniel Nguyen, Member of the House of Representatives
• Jesse Hyatt, Executive Branch Agency Representative
• Andres Lopez, Member
• Catie Theisen, Member
• Hector Dominguez Aguirre, Member
• Janice Lee, Member
• Justus Eaglesmith, Member
• Kimberly McCullough, Member
• K S Venkatraman, Member
• Saby Waraich, Member


Press Office
Press Secretary
Governor's Office

    Governor's Office   |  Newsroom