Oregon Department of Emergency Management
  |  Newsroom        
Deadline Extended for FEMA Public Assistance Requests in 11 Oregon Counties and One Tribe

SALEM, Ore. – May 15, 2024 – Local governments, houses of worship and other nonprofit organizations in the counties of Benton, Clackamas, Coos, Hood River, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Multnomah, Sherman, Tillamook, Wasco and the Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians have until May 27, 2024, to submit requests for FEMA Public Assistance.

FEMA extended the deadline from May 13 at the request of the state of Oregon.

The Public Assistance (PA) Program delivers FEMA grant assistance to local, tribal and state governments and their agencies; houses of worship, and certain private nonprofit applicants following a disaster declaration.

The designated counties and tribes were a part of the April 13 Major Disaster Declaration which provides FEMA Public Assistance, a reimbursement program for public infrastructure damage and response costs in the affected counties and tribes. This declaration does not provide FEMA Individual Assistance for individuals, homes and businesses impacted by the disaster.

Communities, nonprofits and houses of worship interested in applying for a PA grant should contact their local emergency manager or the Oregon Department of Emergency Management for information and to submit a Request for Public Assistance application. Applicants may also submit their forms directly online at the FEMA Grants Portal, an online database accessible to each applicant throughout the PA grant process. Once approved by the state and FEMA, the RPA starts the grant process for eligible FEMA Public Assistance applicants.

More information on the PA process may also be found at https://www.oregon.gov/oem/emresources/disasterassist/Pages/2024-winter-storm-public-assistance.aspx.

# # #

Chris Crabb
Oregon Department of Emergency Management


    Oregon Department of Emergency Management   |  Newsroom